Rhymes With Smash!

The musings of Megan Paasch, and other stuff.

Temporary Shutdown

I have a birthday coming up, and this year I’m giving myself the gift of unplugging. Unplugging from social media, that is. That’s a gift? Yes, sometimes, it is. I have several reasons for wanting to do this. The main one, of course, is productivity. I’m easily distracted, especially when I get stuck for words, and social media is one of the main ways I distract myself.

Another reason is that I’m getting Twitter rage fatigue. If you’re on Twitter in any capacity, you might have noticed that every week or so, everyone is up in arms about something—sometimes it’s pretty legit, sometimes it’s . . . questionable. And either way, it’s getting to me. REALLY getting to me. I’ve unfollowed some people. I’ve muted others. But it still creeps into my timeline, and I just need to get away from it for a while for my own peace of mind.

And I also just want to see if I can do it. I’ve gone on hiatuses before where I just try not to log in for a certain number of days, but I always end up lurking, scrolling through my feed, careful not to click on anything so I don’t let anyone know I’m there when I’m not supposed to be. What can I say? I like you guys! Eventually I just can’t help it and I’ll tweet something and break my hiatus earlier than I said I would. Yup. That’s me. So I’m trying something different this time. Starting sometime tomorrow, I’ll be temporarily deactivating both my Twitter and Facebook accounts. JUST FOR THE MONTH OF SEPTEMBER I SWEAR, PLEASE DON’T LEAVE ME OKAY?

Ahem. Um. Anyway. . . .

If I’m understanding the Twitter FAQ correctly, I can reactivate my account with all of my followers and tweets intact as long as I do it within thirty days. After thirty days, it will be permanently deleted. But don’t worry, I’ll make sure I reactivate before then. (Oh man, I really hope this works). As for Facebook, I don’t think there’s a set amount of time after which I can’t reactivate, but again, it’s only for this month, so I’m not concerned.

As for whether I will continue to blog every Monday this month, well . . . I haven’t decided that. Let’s just say I will try to. Otherwise, I’ll see you in October! Have a great 3.5 weeks!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Temporary Shutdown

  1. Happy Birthday! And go do all the things!

Leave a Reply

