Rhymes With Smash!

The musings of Megan Paasch, and other stuff.

Drastic Measures

I have a big red tile on my phone with a big white number on it that gets smaller every day. It’s counting down to the day I want to be finished with my first revisions pass. Today, that number is a glaring 25. Twenty-five. Less than four weeks.

At the rate things are going, there’s absolutely no way. But I’m going to continue trying. I’m not going to call it a failure until I’ve hit Day -1, because until I haven’t made it, there’s always a chance that I can.

Here’s the thing though: I think it’s going to take something drastic. I think…wow, I’m even having trouble typing it…I think I’m…

*deep breath*

OK. I think I’m going to have to go into full on hermit mode until I’m finished. That means no social media. Let me emphasize that: NO TWITTER OR FACEBOOK FOR TWENTY FIVE DAYS.

None.

Nada.

Oh man, I just don’t know. I mean, I LOVE you guys. Really, really a lot. I love your camaraderie, your encouragement, your capacity for outright hilarity. You’re all amazing, and you’re all what keeps me checking in when I should be hyper-focused on my work. And that’s why I’m going to have to go into this little anti-social cave here for a bit if I’m going to finish what I need to do before the holiday season begins.

I’ll try to write a blog post once a week (I said try, no promises) to update my progress and hold myself accountable. And of course I’ll keep up with email. You might see me on Pinterest now and again too because, let’s face it, I have to do something while I wake up with my morning coffee.

Then, on Halloween, I’ll be back to PARTAY because hopefully I’ll be all finished! And also because it will be Halloween and you know, Halloween = PARTAY. It’s like a law or something.

I’ll give myself tomorrow to wind things down (but I won’t be on much), and then Tuesday I’ll go *poof* until the 31st.

Do you think I can do it? We’ll see!

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Drastic Measures

  1. “Try not. Do, or do not.”

    — Yoda (or me, after a few drinks)

  2. krystal jane on said:

    You can do it. 😀 You & you story will be SO happy come partay day.

Leave a Reply

